Minnesota to Louisiana

If we are going to ‘do’  The Mississippi – a good ‘feel’ of it has to include the ‘upper’ part.  I’ve heard about the folks and towns along the way and I’m not so sure where the character comes from – The River or the Folks, so we’ll do a ‘hasty’ search and share what we learn along the way.

The route is set, Upper and Lower Mississippi, 1800 miles worth – June and July 09, now for the ‘Mock-up’

What we’re working with is pretty much a ‘disposable’ boat,  some painted scrap wood, a few ideas from others, a beverage, some of our own ideas, frame a shanty – and then.. back off, maybe have another beverage while taking it all in…….

Carl - Freebird?

Carl - Freebird?

Commin along

Commin along

Not really a work of art, but its nice to have time to frame – and sometimes its nice to have a beverage frame of mind – so what to name this albatross? –  “Freebird” kinda comes to mind, or maybe ‘The Spirit of Freebird’ – but what else is out there – any ideas?

Will likely haul it just like this and then complete it riverside….., I think.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisser
    Jan 16, 2009 @ 18:45:39

    hummm…I have to think about some suggestions for a name. I like freebird alot.
    What is mom going to do while you are gone? I think she should come visit us in Raleigh.

  2. Ava
    Jan 17, 2009 @ 12:55:35

    Al’s got some ideas for a name and will reply later…..I however like “MIss Guided”

  3. Carl
    Jan 17, 2009 @ 20:00:00

    Please keep us posted ~~~~Looks like Freebird is coming along great ~~~~ You are doing sometjing that I would love to do and have been dreaming for the last 20 years ~~~ I waited too long now and at 71 am too old for this~~~I always thought that if time was no factor I would like to just ride the current~~~ I would of course have a good motor just in case but i would put a couple of trolling motors on the front to sort of guide it and just ride the current~~~~ would like to know how this would work and what you think ~~~ I live close to the Kaskaskia River in Illinois and would have taken it to where it runs into to Mississippi at Chester and go from there ~~~~Good Luck and keep us posted with pictures if possable ~~~ I can still dream !!!!

  4. Tom Haynie
    Jan 17, 2009 @ 20:32:36

    Thanks Ava, I like that name – al’s always had some good ones so eager to hear those too (“Bar-Fly’) – would love to have him join me, still room for a little or alot…. and Carl thanks for the idea about a trolling motor – I have been a little concerned about a power loss on the Big River and I do have a perfect trolling motor on hand – great idea.

    Thanks alot

  5. Lee Coleman
    Jan 22, 2009 @ 10:19:53

    I do not see any lightening rods in place??

  6. Tom Haynie
    Jan 27, 2009 @ 21:47:50

    Why do you think I’m asking you to come along anyway Cousin Lee – just hold that can higher than mine……

  7. Bob Jensen
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 18:04:41

    My wife and I are taking this trip. Leaving Minneapolis July 4th 2009 in a 26 foot Mariah with a small cuddy. We are planning to complete the trip in 2 weeks. i would be interested in hearing from any one who has done this my email is bobj@flagshiptech.com.

    ps: i like the name

  8. Ryan
    Apr 16, 2009 @ 21:30:15

    Im thinking of doing something similar to this as well. Not sure about river boating regulations but id be putting in somewhere on the Missouri and dumping into the Mississippi. Heading to New Orleans. Any input would be great. ryanjweber@gmail.com

  9. Tom Haynie
    Apr 16, 2009 @ 22:12:09

    Do it if you can, good time to invest in your Memory Bank……

Leave a Reply

