Ready for Spring Migration

All continues on track, a blast of warm weather has me anxious to get on the river and put my feet up……………..

Freebird L

Freebird L

but I suppose there will be plenty of time for that in just a few months…..

Freebird f

Freebird f

So in the meantime I’ve been putting in plenty of extra shifts at work and taking the last months of it one day at a time……. It’s true that I’m getting a little ‘burnt’ by so many hours – but time on the River should be the perfect antidote.   

Today is a rare day off so I’m collecting motor numbers (for parts) and beginning a small amount of dismantling for the bird’s flight north –

So what kind of bird is gray, heads north for the spring, and then floats South during the summer?  (clue – its has also been spotted at the Flat Creek Tavern)

a) Blue Heron

b) Bald Eagle

c) Freebird

d) all of the above

Freebird N

Freebird N

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jessica "Haynie" Carr
    Mar 19, 2009 @ 11:28:17

    I think my favorite thing is the screen door on the back!

  2. Tom Haynie
    Mar 19, 2009 @ 12:15:09

    Good eye Jessica – parts are parts – kinda like ‘soup-dog,’ right?

    Its a settlement between a lot of time and a simple mind, I’m hoping that it keeps the bedding in and the really BIG mosquito’s out.

  3. Sparky
    Mar 19, 2009 @ 14:34:53

    Hey Tom,
    She’s lookin’ good! Hope you left room on there for a good size cooler………..don’t want to “dehydrate” out there on the Big Muddy.

    Curious about are your plans for a roof? We haven’t quite decided what to do for ours.

  4. Cousin Melissa
    Mar 19, 2009 @ 15:56:15

    I cant believe how far it has come. Maybe you should plug a bug zapper in there too 😉

  5. Tom Haynie
    Mar 19, 2009 @ 16:56:52

    Roof will be added (3/8 plywood/felt/tarp – then (3) 1×4’s lengthwise on top side edges and middle) at riverside, 3′ poly sides (silt-fence) too – always looking for a good-sized cooler – if ‘the bird’ went down I’d have something special to ‘cling to’ .

    Was contemplating a small bug-zapper today ‘Melissa’ – just don’t want to draw bugs closer – even though I love to hear them FRY….. (I like the ones that zzzzzzzzzzzaaapppp, and then arch and fry and smoke!) 🙂 but that’s wasting electricity – what if I just do it natural and tie a rooster by his leg to my anchor light on the roof, let him gather the bugs in (he could also be my alarm clock/lightning rod/ and fried chicken after a really bad storm).

    Good idea – cheap entertainment, I’ll need it.

  6. Nora
    Mar 19, 2009 @ 20:24:40

    FLY TAPE!! Cheap and works for all bugs. I envy you and what you are about to do.

  7. Tom Haynie
    Mar 19, 2009 @ 21:18:35

    Yeah, I like to see em ‘stuck too…… It should be an awesome adventure Nora, Mike S. is going to ride some too…..

    Hope you guys have a nice visit over there…

  8. Mike S.
    Mar 29, 2009 @ 11:12:03

    Looks good Tom,
    Good idea leaving the roof off until you are portside. Guess you wouldn’t want Freebird to take flight on the trip north!

    Can’t wait to ride the bird for a few days.

  9. "Riverdog"
    Mar 30, 2009 @ 15:58:03

    Tom,
    You probably have this covered already but I saw a really neat “poop bucket” at REI yesterday.It has a seat and a lid and is very inexpensive. Just FYI.

  10. Jessica "Haynie" Carr
    Mar 30, 2009 @ 21:07:30

    POOP BUCKET!!!
    Puuuuleese!
    Growing up we never had such luxuries. it was a big white pail and a Frisbee from what I recall!!!! (wink wink)

  11. Tom Haynie
    Mar 31, 2009 @ 09:59:32

    That’s funny, and yes, you and I are thinking alike Jessica…. buying a “bucket” is not on my list, and Frisbee’s are great for lots of things , including ‘bucket’ cover.

    For those wondering, whenever our family traveled long distances (and we did this several times a year) we had a ‘P’ bucket in the van for the 3 kids (a few inches of liquid mint germicide, and a world-class Frisbee for a cover). It seemed everytime I would get back on the highway after stopping – one of the kids would need to whiz again – I didn’t like to stop so often. So a bucket in our van became their traveling companion….. its probably child abuse nowadays..

    I still maintain a Frisbee nearby – there will be a Frisbee on board the ‘bird’ – plus it is always a good idea to watch out for “land-mines” when walking in the woods………..

  12. Mike S.
    Apr 03, 2009 @ 16:14:25

    Wow Tom. This whole potty thing has taken on a life of its own. You are getting ready to spend several weeks on the mighty Mississip and the topic that gets the most comments by far is how will you handle the most basic of bodily functions. Fascinating how “potty humor” brings people together. ha ha.

    What I’m wondering is have you properly scouted out places where the beverage supply can be replenished.

  13. Tom Haynie
    Apr 04, 2009 @ 00:50:58

    I was thinking the same thing :-), we’re good on the Upper side – our many stops should take care of much of our thirst, but on the lower side it may be some distance between ‘cool’ beverages, at the same time our priorities may be altered by that time too (“may”). The matter of ‘Ice’ could supercede where/how we leave a ‘land-mine.’

  14. charley quinlivan
    Apr 10, 2009 @ 18:40:44

    Tom
    bill bowles at Bigrivershow steered me to your site. Myself and my brother in law are planning to do the Mississippi from Prescot to Memphis this summer. I will follow your adventure, you may follow mine on the above site. We plan to leave for MN on the 7th of June, at that time I will start posting again. See you on the river!!
    charley

  15. Tom Haynie
    Apr 10, 2009 @ 20:48:44

    I will definitely follow your adventure – found your site and your raft looks simply great! I’m sure you have read about the wind, most of it will meet you head on as the day wears on – so early starts for you and some days the wind will be at your back – I hope they are all that way for you. I look forward to the rivertime, and hopefully running into you guys…..Bill and Max did a superb job mixing the fun and facts, I refer to them all the time……..

  16. Jason Dubblu
    Apr 27, 2009 @ 13:27:11

    Ready to drive u up to the twins, wish i could ride the river back with u. I hate im losing my cap for two months, but I hope u have a cool adventure.

  17. Tom Haynie
    Apr 27, 2009 @ 14:14:22

    Thanks man

Leave a Reply

