I Hear The Music

Doobie Brothers

Well, I built me a raft and she’s ready for floatin’
Ol’ Mississippi, she’s callin’ my name
Catfish are jumpin’
That paddle wheel thumpin’
Black water keeps rollin’ on past just the same

Old black water, keep on rollin’
Mississippi moon, won’t you keep on shinin’ on me
Old black water, keep on rollin’
Mississippi moon, won’t you keep on shinin’ on me
Old black water, keep on rollin’
Mississippi moon, won’t you keep on shinin’ on me
Yeah, keep on shinin’ your light
Gonna make everything, pretty mama
Gonna make everything all right
And I ain’t got no worries
’cause i ain’t in no hurry  – at all

Well, if it rains, i don’t care
Don’t make no difference to me
Just take that street car that’s goin’ up town
Yeah, I’d like to hear some funky Dixieland
And dance a honky tonk
And I’ll be buyin’ ev’rybody drinks all ‘roun’

Old black water, keep on rollin’
Mississippi moon, won’t you keep on shinin’ on me
Old black water, keep on rollin’
Mississippi moon, won’t you keep on shinin’ on me
Old black water, keep on rollin’
Mississippi moon, won’t you keep on shinin’ on me
Yeah, keep on shinin’ your light
Gonna make everything, pretty mama
Gonna make everything all right
And I ain’t got no worries
’cause I ain’t in no hurry  – at all

 

Artist: The Doobie Brothers
Album What Were Once Vices Are Now Habits

 

If you can hear the music, I think you get the picture…..

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jackie Mann
    Apr 18, 2009 @ 19:57:23

    I don’t think I will be able to hear that song again without picturing you on the ‘bird going down that old black lady 🙂 Cheering you from Michigan!

  2. Tom Haynie
    Apr 19, 2009 @ 00:00:49

    Thanks, and sorry for lack of a picture – busy at work and just went quick to get what was in my head ‘on line’…. will absolutely do better on the trip.

  3. Cousin Melissa
    Apr 20, 2009 @ 15:55:25

    Great. Now I have that song stuck in my head…at least it reminds me of you.

    Loves Ya,
    Lissy

  4. Tom Haynie
    Apr 20, 2009 @ 17:06:14

    Thanks “cousin,” not sure why it says that, always glad to hear you are thinking about me :-).

Leave a Reply

