Post soon

Another post and pictures of our own soon – I promise, next week I will head to the lake and remove the ‘bird’ and bring her home – then final prep, maintenance, thinning and a next to final cut of any unnecessary weight/accessories/baggage.

I have taken on lots of extra work over the past few months, this has dissapated my focus and posting as I would like – it has also left me somewhat ‘burnt’ and ‘frayed’ from all the hours – so I’m eager to blend back into the mindset of that lazy current – 26 days to go (on the river May 29th) and then we can kick it all into ‘neutral’

How to find neutral

How to find neutral

 

we can ‘cast our lines’ – then spend at least 57 days/nights, coasting in ‘neutral’ on and along ‘The Great River, ‘ Minnesota to Nawleans our goal…………..

so just a short note, I’ve not forgotton this very large part of it – there will be plenty of pictures (our own) and words each day when we begin, promise.

– the moment can’t get here fast enough.

BacShortly

(water temp 61 degrees at St Louis)

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mike
    May 02, 2009 @ 20:35:01

    Tom,
    I am sure the days, hours and, soon if not yet, the minutes seem to be passing by slower all the time. Hang in there. Soon Free Bird will be free.

  2. Jessica "Haynie" Carr
    May 02, 2009 @ 20:39:38

    WOW 26 days!!!! get that camera working so we can see some views!

  3. Tom Haynie
    May 03, 2009 @ 10:44:20

    Thanks Olive for all your support, (and pretty much understanding that for so much time a 20′ deck is just not big ehough for both of us..) its the unseen part and largest boost in doing such a thing,…… makes it all possible.

  4. Melissa
    May 03, 2009 @ 12:01:55

    Only 3 weeks to go! I can not believe how soon that is, it seems like you just started.

    L.O.V.E. your popeye picture, Rylie talks about Popeye all the time.

  5. Indiana Keetha
    May 03, 2009 @ 15:40:49

    First of all, the more you talk about this, the more it sounds like fun.

    Secondly – – – I thought Greg and I were the only couple that talked to each other in blog comments instead of in person!!!!! Too cute.

  6. Tom Haynie
    May 03, 2009 @ 16:26:18

    Funny, yes, who would have ever thunk it……

    (plus, no chance of a growl or hand on a hip..)

  7. Nora
    May 04, 2009 @ 09:16:35

    I will be waiting for your post to come. And don’t worry about Olive I will keep her company 5 days a week anyways!!

  8. Tom Haynie
    May 04, 2009 @ 14:59:12

    I know that you will Nora, I don’t know how you two find time with those busy schedules you have……. I think its the only reason she goes in on some days. Need Kyle to join us about Memphis, 4th of July for a week or two……

Leave a Reply

