Out of the Nest

I’m wondering if it I should call it a boathouse or a birdhouse….. but anyway with the beginning of spring showers and thunderstorms the level of the lake is up a few inches, and yes, being that I built it IN the boathouse (or birdhouse) the getting her out of the nest was looking like a challenge.

The high water had her locked in and with rain continuing for the next few days the water was only getting higher.  I couldn’t wait for the water to go down, so as I went to bed last night I contemplated sawing a hole in the boathouse to get it out – only lacked about 5 inches.

Prodding........

Prodding........

Funny how things come to you when you get just away from it, after resting on the thought I found just the right tool – a large trough filled with water, maybe the weight would lower it enough…………and  it worked…..

Pontoon with a bilge !........

Pontoon with a bilge !........

So ‘she’s out of the nest and loaded, even had a few chill bumps (“chicken skin”) as I putted over to the dock thinking about the next time it will be in the water –

Nestled.....

Nestled.....

– we’ll be migrating down the Great Mississippi.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. charley
    May 05, 2009 @ 12:35:58

    good luck Tom! See you on the river!

  2. Tom Haynie
    May 05, 2009 @ 13:15:54

    See you soon the River sounds real good Charley, I’ve been keeping an eye on you too (2009 raft link), your setup looks great – let’s hope mother nature will allow us a clean run – We’ve got some road miles first……

  3. katie bell
    May 05, 2009 @ 23:45:07

    tom, i was talking to one of my residents the other night and asked what he did, he was a construction worker he was on the 110th floor of the trade center, before they had the walls up then he said he was at the bottom of the missisippi, putting footing in for a bridge, well, i HAD to tell him about you and he thought it was neat what you are doing. SO DO I, but you know me i would be out of the boat the first high wind or lightnening strike. have a safe journey and i will be praying for you. have a great trip. katie.

  4. "Riverdog"
    May 06, 2009 @ 12:12:17

    I was wondering how you were going to get her out of the nest. Good thinking. Today I started making my list for final preperations. As in the past, before a lengthy AT trip, butterflies are setting in. I never have been able to figure out just why that occurs. I guess it has to do with the uncertainty of what’s about to happen…….what a feeling!

  5. Nora
    May 07, 2009 @ 12:48:13

    I was wondering how you did that. Have a safe trip and enjoy the view. You need some nice lacy curtains!

  6. Tom Haynie
    May 07, 2009 @ 23:51:32

    NO lace!, if there were lace we would have to have a shower with a curtain and a bucket with a lid (that couldn’t be left up)…… it wouldn’t be a ‘free-bird’ at all, it would be a ‘she-bird’…

    nice try Nora 🙂

  7. Sunday
    May 24, 2009 @ 11:56:35

    This is so exciting, and Worth is still jealous! I can’t wait to keep up with your adventures. We will wear our shirt proudly!

  8. Tom Haynie
    May 25, 2009 @ 18:11:09

    Hey Sunday, Worth is still welcome – from Memphis I may be solo a while, anyway neat you got your shirt…..

Leave a Reply

